Thursday, July 5, 2007

Q: How many states in the United States are commonwealths?

A: There are four states that are designated as commonwealths: Massachusetts, Virginia, Kentucky and Pennsylvania. Puerto Rico and the Mariana Islands are U.S. territories that are also considered to be commonwealths.

Source: World Book Encyclopedia 2006

Submitted by Maureen Delovio, Ref. Librarian

No comments: